Hristo Karastoyanov

Hristo Karastoyanov.png
Photo © Private archive

Hristo Karastoyanov is one of the most prominent authors of his generation. He made his debut in 1981 with a short story collection,Cracked Asphalt, which won a debut prize from the Yuzhna Prolet in 1982. His novel Autopia: The Other Road to Hell was nominated for the prestigious Vick award (2003). He is the recipient of numerous prizes, including Razvitie Corporation’s award for unpublished novel for Death is of Preference, an award from the Bulgarian Writers’ Union for documentary writing for Notes on Historical Naiveté, the Golden Chain short-story award from Trud daily, and the national Chudomir Award for a humorous story.

In 2012 Dittrich Verlag, based in Berlin, published his Dodder trilogy (Teufelszwirn, Roman in drei Büchern). His novel The Name won the prestigious Helikon award in December of the same year. ...

The novel The Same Night Awaits Us All was also awarded the Helikon, as it went on to become one of the most celebrated Bulgarian books of 2014. The theatre performance Geo (2015), directed for the stage by Ivan Dobchev at the Ivan Vazov National Theatre in Sofia, was based on motifs from the book. The Same Night Awaits Us All also won the Pencho’s Oak award (2014), as well as the Elias Canetti national literary award (2015). In 2018 Karastoyanov’s novel was published in the US in a full-length translation by Izidora Angel (The Same Night Awaits Us All, Open Letter Books, University of Rochester, 2018).

His novel Postscript won first prize at the annual Portal Kultura awards (2017). His work has been included in various Bulgarian and foreign anthologies, and his stories have been published in Russian, Turkish, Arabic and English.

The movie Follow me (2003, directed by Docho Bodzhakov), was based on his stories. Hristo Karastoyanov is a popular publicist – he writes for numerous Bulgarian political and literary newspapers and magazines.

T as in Tashkent

248 pages, cover design by Dimitar Kelbechev

A historical novel with a philosophical underpinning about the Bulgarian 20th century – looking for the answer of the nagging question: why and how does evil find a way to constantly reproduce itself in Bulgarian society and politics?

A lively language, a dynamic narrative, a terrifying story – chilling even.

T as in Tashkent can be read as part of a trilogy – a veritable prequel to The Same Night Awaits Us All (published in English by Open Letter Books, 2018) and Life Has No Second Half.